Veterans Struggle At Home

This summer, I was fortunate enough to attend the Missouri Urban Journalism Workshop at the University of Missouri. While there, I learned an incredible amount about becoming a journalist, telling people’s stories, and gathering sources. With the help of some professional journalists from across the country, I got a true taste of what it’s really like to work in the business.

During the nine day program, each student had to produce two different stories relating to the workshop theme, the income gap. One of the stories I did was a multimedia package while the other was a written article.

For my multimedia story, I focused on veterans who fell on hard times financially once they returned home from serving overseas. I was able to meet some extraordinary men who really opened up to me about their lives. The interviews came together to form a really extraordinary piece on the problems they face. Check it out bellow!!

Leave a Reply

